Open

Congratulations on your acceptance to Virginia Tech! We look forward to welcoming you to our community. This webpage is designed to provide you with a brief introduction to graduate life at Virginia Tech.

NEW STUDENT ORIENTATION SESSIONS

Please come to the New Student Orientation Sessions held on Saturday, January 13, 2018 at the Northern Virginia Center in Room 214.

8:45am to 9:00am        Registration and light breakfast
9:00am to 11:00am      New Student Orientation
Noon-1:00pm                An additional orientation for International students

CHECKLIST FOR NEW VT NVC STUDENTS

More information for new students can be found on the Graduate School website.

ORIENTATION MATERIALS FALL 2017

GRADUATE STUDENT SERVICES OFFICE (GSSO)

The Graduate Student Services Office (GSSO) in the National Capital Region, serves as a coordinating and governing body to all the Virginia Tech graduate programs and their students. Some of the services they provide include:

Click here for more information on the GSSO.

GRADUATE STUDENT ASSEMBLY

The NCR Gradate Student Assembly seeks to nurture graduate student community across departments by providing social events that foster inter-department, interdisciplinary conversation. The representatives liaise with the VT GSA in Blacksburg to improve scholarly development, and graduate community by creating and implementing goals based on the issues and concerns of graduate students on campus.

The NCR GSA Leadership for 2017-2018 is:

GRADUATE PROGRAM ADVISORS

Each department at the Northern Virginia Center has a program advisor that can provide information, advising, and answer questions about the programs they represent. Below is a list of the current program advisors located at the NVC.

COLLEGE OF BUSINESS:
EXECUTIVE MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION (EMBA)

Annabelle Ombac
Email: aombac@vt.edu
Phone: 703-538-3746

MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION (MBA)

Emily Cook
Email: ebcook3@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8410

Kathy Imhof
Email: kathyi@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8410

PROFESSIONAL MASTER OF BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION (PMBA)

Kellee Akers
Email: kakers25@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8349

MASTER OF INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (MIT)

Beverly Griffin
Email: bgriff75@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8384

Janet Palmisano
Email: jpalmis5@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8384

Christina Smith
Email: clsmith@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8384

SCHOOL OF EDUCATION:
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY IN SOCIETY (STS)

Susan Li
Email: susanli@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8481

MARRIAGE & FAMILY THERAPY (MFT)

Patricia Meneely
Email: pmeneely@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8460

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING:
COMPUTER SCIENCE (CS)
ELECTRICAL & COMPUTER ENGINEERING (ECE)

Roxanne Paul
Email: roxpaul@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8370

INDUSTRIAL & SYSTEMS ENGINEERING (ISE)

Jeny Beausoliel
Email: jeny15@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-8431

MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (ME)

Allison Rubio
Email: arubio@vt.edu
Phone: (703) 538-3790