Virginia Tech®home

Contact Us

The Virginia Tech Northern Virginia Center welcomes inquires from prospective students, current students, alumni, or anyone else interested in Virginia Tech graduate education in the Greater Washington D.C. metro area.

To reach the Northern Virginia Center for more information, please call 703-538-8324.

Questions and General Information

NVC Main Phone Line
Phone: 703-538-8324

NVC Administration Main Office
Phone: 703-538-8310

NVC Weather Alert Line
Phone: 703-538-8325

Address of the Northern Virginia Center

Virginia Tech
Northern Virginia Center
7054 Haycock Rd
Falls Church, VA 22043

NVC Library & Resource Center

Phone: 703-538-8340
Email: nvclibrary@vt.edu
Website: https://lib.vt.edu/nvc

NVC Resource Center
7054 Haycock Rd
Falls Church, VA 22043

Student Services & Community Engagement

Title
Last First Room Phone Number Email
Licensed Clinical Psychologist / Embedded Counselor Kaplan Julie 470 703-538-3797 jskaplan@vt.edu

After Hours Counseling
Phone: 540-231-6557
Website:  Click Here

Self care and support resources: Click Here

The Office for Equity and Accessability coordinates and supports civil rights compliance and offers resources to address workplace conflicts.

Title Last First Room Phone Number Email
Equity Manager Chatman Gennelle 454 703-538-3753 gennelle@vt.edu

The greater Washington, D.C., metro area Graduate Student Assembly seeks to nurture the graduate student community across departments by providing social events that foster inter-department, interdisciplinary conversation. The representatives liaise with the VT GSA in Blacksburg to improve scholarly development and the graduate community by creating and implementing goals based on the issues and concerns of graduate students on campus.

Virginia Tech Alumni - D.C. Area

Phone: 571-858-3252
Email: info@ncrhokies.org
Website: www.dchokies.org

Graduate School

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Associate Dean of the Graduate School & Director Wong Kenneth 412 703-538-8312 khwong@vt.edu
Assistant Director Skomra Phil 414 703-538-8323 pskomra@vt.edu
Assistant to the Associate Dean of the Graduate School & Director Merten Susan 410 703-538-8310 smerten@vt.edu
Business Manager Belk Aprile 408 703-538-8315 abelk@vt.edu

Website: https://graduateschool.vt.edu/
Graduate School Blacksburg Contact Information: Click Here
Graduate School Blacksburg Directory: Click Here
Graduate School Blacksburg Departments: Click Here

Graduate Student Services Office

Department Email: gssoncr@vt.edu
Department Phone: 703-538-8327
Website: Click Here
Student Document Drop Off: Outside Room 493

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Enrollment Services Assistant Payne Debbie 491 703-538-8322 payned@vt.edu
Senior Academic Progress Advisor Julien Corinne 492 703-538-8439 corinne3@vt.edu
GAAP/IGSS Advisor Torri Brown 490 703-538-3775 torribrown@vt.edu

Department Email: intlncr@vt.edu
Department Phone: 703-538-8327
Website: Click Here
Student Document Drop Off: Outside Room 493

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Assistant Director for DC International Student Services Mullins Jessica 488 703-538-8326 mullins1@vt.edu
GAAP/IGSS Advisor Brown Torri 492 703-538-3775 torribrown@vt.edu

NVC Support Services

Phone: 703-538-8440
Email: facilities@vt.edu
Hours: 8:00am to 5:00pm
Website: https://www.nvc.vt.edu/facilities

Services Offered:

  • Classroom Scheduling and Maintenance
  • Minor Maintenance Task (Moving Equipment and Furniture, Hanging Pictures / Office Whiteboards / Bulletin Boards)
  • Work with the Building Engineer on larger tasks (General Maintenance, Renovations, Temperture)
  • Events setup
  • Distributes office and building keys
  • Parking validations and distribution of parking proximity cards
Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Facilities Coordinator Huffman Jason 404 703-538-8375 jahuffma@vt.edu
Facilities Coordinator
Currently Vacant Currently Vacant 403    

Hours: Monday-Friday 10:00am to 7:00pm
Website: https://www.classroomav.vt.edu/

Services Offered:

  • Install and maintain A/V equipment in general assignment classrooms.
  • Assist users with operation of classroom A/V equipment.
  • Train users on operation of classroom A/V equipment.
Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Classroom AV Svcs Tech Romero Diego 411 703-538-3786 rdiego@vt.edu

Phone: 703-538-8444
Email: nvccomputerhelp@vt.edu
Hours: Monday-Friday 8:00am to 7:00pm
Website: https://vt4help.service-now.com/

Services Offered:

  • Installation and maintenance of computer hardware located on the NVC campus.
  • Troubleshooting technology and software issues.
  • Assists VT network services with data port connections and phone services.
  • Assist departments with computer and software orders.
  • Administers local file server and network policies.
Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Systems Administrator Finlayson Erik 421 703-538-8394 efinlays@vt.edu
Jr Systems Administrator Bradish Neil 417 703-538-8362 nbradish@vt.edu

Website: https://tlos.vt.edu/

Services Offered:

  • Provides training and workshops for faculty who teach online or at a distance.
  • Assist faculty with instructional design and course development for distance and online learning.
  • Video recording services.
  • Provides training and support of the Canvas learning managment system.
  • Provides full support to faculty in TLOS managed classrooms.
Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Distance Learning Specialist Murphy Jim 107 703-538-8389 jmurph@vt.edu
Distance Learning Technician Fabrega Rene 107 703-538-8487 rene54@vt.edu
Distance Learning Technician Yeganeh Reza 107 703-538-8487 abdorrezaa@vt.edu

Graduate Programs / Departments

Pamplin College Of Business

Title
Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Associate Dean Ghandforoush Parviz 342 703-538-8412 pghandfo@vt.edu
Assistant to Associate Dean Girdwain Nicole 341 703-538-3782 ngirdwain1@vt.edu
MBA Program Director Hansson Dana 344 703-538-3761 dhansson@vt.edu
PCOB Marketing Director Falkenstern Julia 360 703-538-3757 jfalken@vt.edu
Assoc. Director of MBA Recruiting McGill Rebecca 302 703-538-8497 rmcgill@vt.edu
Assoc. Director of MBA Academics Willett Brantley 352 703-538-8414 bwillett@vt.edu
Business Services Specialist Dema Ingrid 355 703-538-8416 idema@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Faculty / Director Chakravarti Dipankar 354 703-538-8418 dchakra1@vt.edu
Interim Director Venkatesh Viswanath 364   vvenkatesh@vt.edu
Associate Director Ombac Annabelle 357 703-538-3756 aombac@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here
Main Office Phone: 703-538-8410
Department Email: eveningmba@vt.edu

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Program Coordinator Griffin Beverly 301 703-538-3776 bgriff75@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Anderko Vorsky Reve 301 703-538-8411 randerko@vt.edu
Faculty / Associate Dean Ghandforoush Parviz 342 703-538-3782 pghandfo@vt.edu
Faculty Baker Wade 428 703-538-8471 wbaker@vt.edu
Faculty Becker William 350 703-538-8408 beckerwj@vt.edu
Faculty Bhattacharjee Sudip 362 703-538-8422 sudipb@vt.edu
Faculty Chakravarti Dipankar 354 703-538-8418 dchakra1@vt.edu
Faculty Hatfield Donald 346 703-538-8417 hatfield@vt.edu
Faculty Hoopes Barbara 348 703-538-8409 bhoopes@vt.edu
Faculty / Director MSBA-HTM Khan Mahmood 340 703-538-8486 mahmood@vt.edu
Faculty Kumar Ramen 306 703-538-8372 rkumar@vt.edu
Faculty Mansi Sattar 368 703-538-8406 smansi@vt.edu
Faculty Major Raymond 358 703-538-8419 rmajor@vt.edu
Faculty Simpson David 458 703-538-3771 simpsond@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here
Department Email: emba@vt.edu

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Assistant Director Wagg Ginny 359 703-538-3746 gwagg@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here
Department Email: pmba@vt.edu

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Program Coordinator Wagg Ginny 359 703-538-3746 gwagg@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here
Department Phone: 703-538-8384
Department Email: vtmit@vt.edu

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Executive Director Ghandforoush Parviz 342 703-538-3782 pghandfo@vt.edu
Academic Operations Manager Sok Christine 365 703-538-3781 cssok4@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Rahman Rabeya 365 703-538-8397 rahmanra@vt.edu
Program Coordinator
Roberson Shekina 365 703-538-8361 shekina@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here
Department Email: msbahtm@vt.edu

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Faculty / Driector Khan Mahmood 340 703-538-8486 mahmood@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Youssef Omar 361 703-538-8349 omary@vt.edu

College Of Engineering

Computer Science Program Website: Click Here
Master of Science - Computer Science Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Director Lu Chang-Tien 312 703-538-8373 ctlu@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Paul Roxanne 312A 703-538-8370 roxpaul@vt.edu
Director MEng Program Hooshangi Sara 478A 703-538-8359 shoosh@vt.edu
MEng Program Coordinator Pipkin Samantha 478   samanthap@vt.edu
Faculty Lou Wenjing 304 703-538-3774 wjlou@vt.edu
Faculty Chen Ing-Ray 308 703-538-8376 irchen@vt.edu
Faculty Cho Jin-Hee 310 703-538-8302 jicho@vt.edu
Faculty Kulczycki Gregory 312B 703-538-3758 gregwk@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Director Mili Lamine 438 703-538-3767 lmili@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Paul Roxanne 312A 703-538-8370 roxpaul@vt.edu
Faculty Zaghloul Amir 416 703-538-8435 amirz@vt.edu
Faculty Ampadu Paul 438 703-538-3767 ampadu@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Director Harmon Ken 418 703-538-8445 kharmon@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Parks Hannah Blacksburg 540-231-5586 hsswiger@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Director Triantis Kostas 442 703-538-8446 triantis@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Parks Hannah Blacksburg 540-231-5586 hsswiger@vt.edu
Faculty Ghaffarzadegan Navid 430 703-538-8434 navidg@vt.edu
Faculty Harmon Ken 418 703-538-8445 kharmon@vt.edu
Faculty Hosseinichimeh Niyousha 440 703-538-3759 niyousha@vt.edu

Mechanical Engineering Program Website: Click Here
Nuclear Engineering Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Director Haghighat Alirez 436 703-538-3795 haghigha@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Jones Allison 435 703-538-3790 arjones@vt.edu
Faculty Mahajan Roop 420 703-538-3785 mahajanr@vt.edu
Faculty Pitchumani Ranga 426 571-858-3251 pitchu@vt.edu
Faculty Hin Celene 432 540-231-1924 celhin@vt.edu
Faculty Ranganalthan Shivakumar 434 703-538-8447 srangan3@vt.edu

College of Liberal Arts & Human Sciences (CLAHS)

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Graduate Academic Program Assistant Li Susan 446 703-538-8481 susanli@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Faculty Gratto John 456 703-538-8479 john1112@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Li Susan 446 703-538-8481 susanli@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Co-Director / Faculty Abbate Janet 448 703-538-3768 abbate@vt.edu
Co-Director / Faculty Schmid Sonja 462 703-538-8482 sschmid@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Li Susan 446 703-538-8481 susanli@vt.edu
Faculty Allen Barbara 460 703-538-3780 ballen@vt.edu

Program Website: Click Here

Title Last Name First Name Room Phone Number Email
Program Director Jackson Jeffery 202D 703-538-3787 jjax@vt.edu
Program Coordinator Meneely Pat 202F 703-538-8460 pmeneely@vt.edu